Peter Pan’s got… KIDS?!?

That’s always been one of my favorite lines from the movie Hook. It was one of my favorites when I was younger, and a notable absentee on my list of 4 Movies I can’t wait to watch with my daughter. I always seemed to relate with Peter growing up. Well… not growing up is a bit more appropriate. I’ve always held onto the things that defined youth for me. Pictures, concert tickets, old habits like gaming and the occasional episode of Anime. (Don’t judge me.) And one thing that I was so sure of… so POSITIVE about, was the decision to hold off on having kids.

While the decision to marry my wife may have been one that I kind of streamlined, we both agreed children was something that could wait. We had plans. We confirmed them in front of all our closest friends and family at our wedding shower during a game where we answered a question for every present we opened. “Kids?!?” I believe is what was written on the notecard that they used to anonymously ask us these questions. And woohoo for me, it was my turn to answer.”Not for at least a year… Once I turn thirty maybe we’ll go that route. We plan to do some traveling next year. But eventually, one, maybe two, but that would be the limit.”

Mouth, meet foot.

Mouth, meet foot.

It was two weeks before our wedding, my soon to be wife (who’ll be called Lady from here on out) took me out for breakfast. The place we planned to go had a ridiculous wait, so, where did we end up for brunch? Waffle house! After we ate, we hopped into the car and Lady decided to give me a surprise. No, not what you’re thinking. She handed me a familiar sized box and told me to open it. Quickly, I tore the wrapping off and eyed the packaging. “Citizen” YES! I opened the casing for the watch and there sat the one I had wanted. I pointed it out the day we picked up my wedding band from the jewelry store, and fell in love with it. I was so surprised because that had only been a few weeks prior. “I had to give it to you with time to get it sized!” she told me. It was my wedding present, and I couldn’t wait to wear it!

My wedding gift... badass, right?

My wedding gift… badass, right?

In all the shock and excitement, I began to put the top back on when my wife asked, “Aren’t you going to take it out of the box?!?” Duh. So I pulled it out, smile on my face and HOLY SHIT. My mouth dropped at about the same rate that the pacifier fell into my lap. I didn’t know what to say. I was shocked. At first I was scared. Then I was worried. Then the weirdest part… I was calm. And in that moment I couldn’t do anything but tear up. Maybe it was more of a cry, I can’t really remember. Details, who needs em. Anyway… I hugged Lady and in that car I realized my life had changed forever. Two weeks sooner than I had expected. But it happened. This was it. I was going to be a dad.

And here we are… 9 months later. And I’m sitting here with the most beautiful gift my wife could ever have given me. This Little Lady who will forever be mine. Who will always be my little girl. It’s crazy. It’s mind-boggling.

And in this moment… all I can think to myself is…

Peter Pan’s got… KIDS?!?

6 responses to “Peter Pan’s got… KIDS?!?

    • It holds a special place in my heart. I felt like it was such a great portrayal of Peter Pan if he had grown up and forgotten all about Neverland. But I can understand where you’re coming from, there’s always room for improvement!

Join the discussion

