I wasn’t a cool kid in school (And I pray my daughter isn’t either!)


If there’s one thing about myself that I take pride in more than anything else, it’s the fact that I’m a geek. I read fantasy books, I play video games, I love Harry Potter, I’ve written fan fiction, I’ve attended a convention, I’ve collected action figures… The list really just goes on and on. Now, there was a time when I thought my path through life was going to be much different. I can remember being 7 or 8 years old, thinking that my elite baseball skills would get me to the next level, would make me a high school hero, and would only end after I single-handedly carried the Yankees to back to back World Series championships.

This was my dream

This was my dream

By the time I entered middle school, all that changed. I wasn’t playing baseball any more. Instead, I had opted to join the orchestra. Not because I had any real want to play an instrument, but for the most obvious reason a 10 year old would make such a socially detrimental decision; a cute girl was in the orchestra, and I’d be damned if I wasn’t going to be right there next to her when I finally made it to middle school. Fast forward a year later and imagine my surprise when I was told that the orchestra was split up by grade, and I wouldn’t be sitting next to the girl I had dreamed about all summer. FRACK! Regardless, I stuck to my decision of playing the violin, mostly because my mom had threatened me with my life if I even DARED to try to tell her I didn’t want to play the instrument she had spent hundreds of dollars on just weeks prior. But with that, I cemented my ‘anti-cool kid’ status, and never looked back.

And in hindsight, I’m damn happy that I didn’t. High school is one of those rites of passage parts of your life. When you get there, you know it’s serious. You know that the next 4 years of your life are going to make or break you (at least, that’s what you think) and if you aren’t one of the ‘cool kids,’ this is when you go from wonderful outlook to holy shit I’m doomed. You think that if you don’t fit in, you never will. Thankfully, at some point, I think most of us realize that just isn’t the case. That the cool kids aren’t really cool, they’re just a bunch of assholes who will be sending you friend requests in the future to hopefully bask in your failures beyond your early years, just to be surprised to know that you actually did something with your life. Their parties don’t matter now, and they never really did.

One thing I’ve had many people tell me in recent years is how special my group of friends is. We’ve been together ever since high school. Sure, most people keep a friend or two from the hallways they passed through as youth, but rarely does an entire group of friends stay that way for long. Not my group. Not my friends. We’ve been together since we roamed the halls of good ‘ole Osborne High. And while we may not see each other as often as we did 5 years ago, we all keep in touch. We all know that if anything were to happen, there’s a support group better than any other right there waiting.

As my daughter grows older, I hope and pray she becomes a geek. A nerd. Or more affectionately, a Goonie.

A motto to live by

A motto to live by

44 responses to “I wasn’t a cool kid in school (And I pray my daughter isn’t either!)

      • I bet… but it’s hard to continue on with something like that when there’s not much you could do with that talent after a certain age. It’s not like you can play the violin in a band! πŸ˜‰

  1. I was a nothing in school and only got my geek on quite recently. Husby’s always been a geek and is starting early on our 5 y/o Neff – teaching him Warhammer already. Not too pleased about that one, cos I’m stuck on Lego Harry Potter and need Neff to guide me through.

    • Thank you SO MUCH for stopping by and leaving a comment. I loved every single paragraph of your post!! I agree, you learn very valuable lessons. And I think you learn to read people throughout life a little better, making us maybe even a bit more adaptable to social situations in our later years. You captured the true essence of the nerd. Thank you for sharing!

  2. Awesome sauce. I was a major nerd in middle school, and recovered a bit by high school but not much. Being in drama, so drama nerd I guess, saved me from a lot of the social politics. I haven’t kept in touch (outside of facebook) with a single high school “friend,” though. Most of the authentic friendships I made were through youth group, and many of those friends I still have! Nerds rule the world, anyways! πŸ™‚

  3. Truffle Shuffle all the way! It takes a long time to realize that those band geeks were awesome…to and with each other! My kids are in the orchestra and proud to call themselves nerds (well one is, and one might not have realized it yet) πŸ™‚

  4. I wasn’t popular myself, and hope my daughter isn’t, either. I always tell her I’d rather her have a few true friends than run with the pack. Good job, Dad!

  5. I never was considered a “cool” kid throughout my years of schooling and despite the fact that it made me unhappy at certain times, I’m so grateful I never was. Because of that, I’ve found out who I truly am and am comfortable in myself. I pray your daughter is as awesome as you seem to be.

    • Thank you for the compliment! I think she’s going to be even more awesome than her dad.

      I agree, because of my social status, I truly allowed myself to get comfortable in my skin, and feel like it’s helped me along the way!

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting, I really appreciate it!

  6. I went to a really small high school so I was on the fringe of the cool group by being a cheerleader but was mostly a geek hanging out with the band/drama/literary mag crowd. And it’s all good. There are things I’d change if I had it to do over, but my friends aren’t one of them. Sounds like yours are great!

    • Amazing friends is definitely one thing I was truly lucky to be blessed with. I’m glad you embraced your geekiness even though you were a cheerleader… breaking the mold, I like it!

  7. Perfectly captured high school! I would hope the same for my kids – I don’t want them to feel like they don’t belong, but I don’t want them to be the vapid members of the cool crowd – i want them to be somewhere in between, confident and happy with who they are.

    • That’s exactly the place I was lucky enough to find through high school and college. I never felt like I didn’t belong, but I never quite felt like I fit in with the ‘cool kids’… of course, after college and finding out that there are far more of us geeks than there are of them, I didn’t really care much about those things.

    • You did all the things I wished I wouldn’t have been scared to do in High school. Not sure why I thought being in Orchestra was any less geeky than being in Theatre/Drama, but that was my thinking, haha. You sound pretty rad to me!

  8. Yes! I was pretty much the least cool person in high school, which, in retrospect, is actually pretty great. I got to peak in college and beyond, while all those cool kids peaked in high school, are still living right next door to their parents, and never really made much of themselves. I am just petty enough to be pleased by that. Vindication? Definitely, yes.

  9. I wasn’t “cool” in high school, but I don’t think that it would have necessarily set me back either. Sometimes, the cool kids become cool adults.

  10. I was a complete nerd – marching band, symphonic band, jazz band, theater, swing choir…you get the idea. And I loved it! I made wonderful lifelong fellow nerd friends, went on band trips, performed in fun plays. I’d do it all again, just as nerdy as I did then. πŸ™‚

Join the discussion

