THEY SAID YES!!!! (Goals, I reached them!)

I bet you’re wondering, “Who said yes?”, “Don’t you usually only ask ONE person to marry you?”, and the other obvious question on your mind, “Aren’t you already MARRIED?!?” Don’t worry, I didn’t suddenly start practicing polygamy. If you had a chance to check out my previous post, Capturing Real Experiences, then you’re already caught up. I’ve decided to take my photography seriously and with that, I approached two couples in regards to the opportunity to capture their birth experience. So, it’s those couples I’m actually talking about. And my excitement is absolutely through the roof at their approval. Not only are both willing to let me participate, they’re just as excited about the experience as I am!

Seriously...

Seriously…

One of the couples is due in a week and with a little bit of luck, they’ll have their baby outside of the Monday through Friday, 8-5 restriction window I unfortunately call a job. The excitement is building, and I can’t even think about anything other than how amazing this experience will be if the stars align and I’m able to attend the birth. Yup, I said BIRTH. When I first set out to accomplish this goal of mine, my highest hope was them allowing me to visit before or after their babies were born. A little voice inside did think that maybe, just maybe, they would be excited about it and let me take pictures before AND after. But there wasn’t the slightest expectation that they might actually be okay with me attending the birth. Imagine my surprise when I received a call from the couple expecting next week, and during our conversation, they offered me that opportunity. Of course, the line was a bit static-y, and I could’ve just misunderstood, but I’m pretty sure from the conversation that followed the initial offer, that they indeed did ask me if I would be okay with capturing the birth. (In a very formal, no need to see the naughty bits, way.)

Sharing this moment with a couple is something that I never would have imagined. Never in my life would I have considered capturing the birth experience. When you think of what your niche will be as a photographer, all the typical pieces to the puzzle are there… wedding, portrait, landscape… but rarely have I seen a photographer that focused purely on the experience. A new life coming into the world. A child’s first attempt at riding his bike without training wheels. A graduation party. A baby shower. These events come and go and are supposed to be remembered as some of the best days of our lives, yet professional photographers are rarely in attendance. Why? My assumption would be the high cost. Don’t get me wrong, a truly talented photographer is not going to be cheap. Our wedding photographer was expensive… but his work was worth every single penny. Regardless, my assumption is that it would just cost too much money to have a professional capture your kids first birthday. Why do that when you can just pull out the ‘ole iPhone and capture in your amazing 8MP glory? I’m hoping to remedy this moving forward. I hope to reach a point that will allow my clients to actually experience these moments, rather than be the ones responsible for capturing it. And this is just the beginning.

With that said, I’ve also reached another goal. Getting my first donation on my fundraising page with the opportunity to capture some more moments; and it took less than 24 hours. This was another moment that absolutely stunned me. While I am confident in my abilities and sure that once I get my portfolio going and the word out, I will get more people interested in my work, it was not my intention (nor my expectation) to have someone donate at the highest reward tier available. Yet, there it was Saturday morning. An email telling me someone donated! I can’t even tell you how amazed I was. I was amazed at the thought that someone was interested in my work enough to donate so quickly. I was blown away that they were so impressed, that they signed up for my most expensive package! To be fair, the donation was made by a very old friend of mine. and his wife who just welcomed their own little guy into the world a couple months back. Regardless of this fact, it was not expected of him, nor anyone who chooses to donate, to donate so freely. His confidence in my work has made me determined not to let myself down in this venture, and to not let him or his wife down either. I’m going to do this and I’m going to make sure that every opportunity I get is used to the fullest of my ability. I’m going to make sure I put everything into my work. I want to ensure that the final product is something that I can be proud of and that my clients can look back at somewhere down the line and be over joyed with the memories my work will hopefully help them preserve.

Moments like this are exactly why I want to do this...

Capturing moments like this are exactly why I want to do it.

This is going to be quite the adventure, and I can’t wait!

14 responses to “THEY SAID YES!!!! (Goals, I reached them!)

    • Thank you SIR! Now, I just need to get back to my running… I’ve got a 5k in 3 1/2 weeks and I haven’t ran since the baby was born. This race is going to kick my ass, haha!

  1. You’re going to do great! Your photos are spectacular. If you were closer to me, I would hire you in a second!

  2. I’m really digging your concept.
    Sometimes people spend sop much time taking picture so they can remember something, that they forget to experience it the first time around. I think you can really find a way to make it affordable to capture some of the smaller, but no less important events.
    I really think you’ve got something here.

    • Thank you! And that’s exactly my thought process, we spend so much time capturing moments that we forget to enjoy them.. then when we recall those memories, that’s how we remember them, looking through a view finder. Thanks for taking a moment to read and comment!

  3. Congratulations!!!!! I’m really excited for you to bring the visual of two hearts becoming three for these couples!!! Maybe they will even allow you to post some of the beauty you capture!!!!

    • Thank you so much! They both agreed to provide me with approved shots afterwards that I can use for both my portfolio and blog, so I will definitely be sharing!

Join the discussion

