Capturing Real Experiences

Two days ago I decided to do it. I was going to jump in, head first, and not think twice about it. I’ve tried things of this nature before in the past, but I typically just dipped a toe and at any sign of impending waves, I ran like there was no tomorrow. This is not something I’m proud of and it’s something that I’ve decided to change.

After all the extremely kind, positive, feedback that I received from my previous photo project “Our Road to Rowyn“, I’ve decided maybe it’s time to try my hand at this photography thing. Maybe those friends aren’t just trying to be nice. I mean, I also have my blog buddies, who have no real reason to ‘blow my head up’, and even they all had nothing but nice comments. So, naturally, my last true test of faith before I decided to go all in was the dreaded “Photography Forum.” So, I held my breath, typed up a small intro, and shared my link, asking for real feedback, comments, and most importantly, critiques of my work. And waited… And waited. I thought maybe I messed something up, maybe the link didn’t work or I didn’t click “post”, but after going over it with a fine-tooth comb, everything was in order.

It wasn’t too long after that I received my first response and it was not what I was expecting. And I quote,  “These are absolutely perfect. No CC from me. I love them!” Even then, I second guessed myself and wanted to hear more; in the end, one persons opinion just isn’t enough. But with every response my thread received, nothing changed. I received not a single response advising me that my editing was off, or my shots weren’t sharp, or they didn’t like my angles. I was amazed. And in the back of my head, I finally convinced myself that maybe I did have a talent for this type of photography.

So, back to the beginning! Two days ago I reached out to a couple of friends who are expecting in the near future, and started the ball rolling on what I hope will become a large part of who I am and what I am doing in the future. To sum it up, I’m ready to build my portfolio, and put myself out there for whomever is interested in my work. The best place to start for me was a site called, gofundme.com. This site provides a Kickstarter like funding page, but instead of funding a business idea/specific project, GFM allows you to fundraise for any reason you deem necessary. And with this, I found my temporary home.

For now, what I am offering is the opportunity for a low cost, accessible photography session of the donating parties choice, accompanied by digitally delivered and individually edited photos. I specifically would like to stray away from weddings/engagement, type sessions. I’m looking to capture the raw moments that don’t require staging, posing, lighting, and the like. It’s just me, my amazing 50mm lens, and my camera. (And probably a tripod for the not so spontaneous moments.)

If this sounds like something you may be interested in, please visit my page, Capturing Real Experiences. I would also like to ask, if you have some friends who may be interested and don’t mind, that you feel free to share the page on your own social networks to help spread the word. Every little donation and opportunity will help me to not only supplement my income and aide in the ever increasing expenses a child brings, but also to build my portfolio, all while being part of some very special times in others lives.

Here’s to new beginnings!

And this is where it began...

And this is where it began…

4 responses to “Capturing Real Experiences

  1. Pingback: THEY SAID YES!!!! (Goals, I reached them!) | Dad, It's ok!·

  2. Pingback: Whatcha doin’? | Dad, It's ok!·

Join the discussion

