“OH MY GOD WHAT HAVE I DONE?!?”

Those were probably my first thoughts as my daughter was being born. Her birth was something that I will never forget. An experience I will cherish for the rest of my life. While I’ve had some pretty awesome experiences in my life, this one tops them all. Despite the ridiculously long stay at the hospital, 7 days straight, 10 days out of 12, it was worth it all. Sleeping on the horrible day bed, eating some not so great food (and some really AWESOME food), constantly being bombarded with nurses hooking up your wife to this machine, poking her for this reason, waking her up for that medicine… all of it. WORTH. EVERY. SECOND.

When it was finally time, after a second induction finally stuck and a long road to 8 cm’s (for those of you without kids, that’s when you get ready to push…10 is when shit goes down!), things started to slow down, and the next hour or so of my life was just the beginning. Once things got rolling, between contractions and pushing, the nurse asked me a question I wasn’t quite ready for. “So, do you want to deliver the baby?!?” Wait… SAY WHAT?!? “Umm… is that normal?!?” She laughed a little at that one. She told me that when a birth is being done vaginally, and things are going well, she offers it to dad’s who look like their composed and can handle it. That kind of shocked me. Going into this thing I told my soon to be brother-in-law, that I didn’t think I was even going to look down. I promised if there was just a little too much blood, I’d be done for. Waking up to the sound of my daughter crying as I picked myself up off the floor. But oddly enough, I was calm. It didn’t bother me, and I was all of a sudden given this amazing opportunity to bring my daughter into this world… literally. So after a quick “how-to”, “Put your hands on her forehead and behind her head, I’ll put mind on yours, and we’ll pull, then just get ready to hold her like a football, I’ll get her in your hands.” “You got it QB, just hand me the ROCK!!**” I responded.

Next thing you know my wife’s pushing and I’m huddled waiting for the command. “Ok, last one! BIG push, as long as you can!” And Lauren pushed. I held my breath, I held my daughters head, and we pulled. All of a sudden, she’s in my arms, snuggled as tight as a pigskin. (TOUCHDOWN!) Her eyes open wide… She lets out a quick little cry before calming right back down… And tears roll down my face. And I think to myself… “Oh my god… This is amazing. Look at what we’ve done,” as I pass baby Rowyn, the most beautiful little lady in the world, over to her gorgeous mother.

Yup, she's mine.

Yup, she’s mine!

**Not my actual response, but I wish it was!

***50 days, 5 hours and 15 minutes until college football is BACK! Thus, the football references.

14 responses to ““OH MY GOD WHAT HAVE I DONE?!?”

  1. Aww, I love this! You definitely scored a touchdown with Rowyn! Good job, Coach!

    I can’t wait until football either… Until my Cocks beat your Dawgs!! πŸ˜‰

  2. That’s a pretty accurate depiction of what happened, wording and all!! I live reading about it!

    Much love to you, Lauren, & Rowyn!!
    Xoxo

    Your Midwife,
    Mandy

    Oh, and Gooooo Tigers!!🐾🏈🐾

  3. What a great memory to have! I’d do anything to have a vaginal birth, to experience that and for Matt to be able to experience it too. 3 c-sections down, 1 to go!

    • It really is one of the best memories I’ll have for my entire life.

      Ah, I was so scared we would have to have a C-Section, but things worked out. I hope things go well for you!!

  4. Wow…reading this brought tears to my eyes! With just having my baby a few weeks before you guys had your beautiful daughter, I know all of those feelings and emotions all too well. It’s such a personal intense moment that we will cherish forever. Congrats on your little one, she is so gorgeous. I will have to warn you, you may have to lock her up when our kids get older! My little man will be trying to come after her! LOL!!

    • I couldn’t agree more! It was one of the most amazing experiences of my life, truly. I’m so glad I was able to capture most of it with photos!

      He might have to put up a fight! I’ve had 2 requests for an arranged marriage, and a bribe from another friend with a little boy… I’m seriously in the market for a shotgun right now, hahaha!

Join the discussion

