#TBT – Time…

I usually partake in #TBT (Throwback Thursday) on Instagram, but today I felt like posting something I wrote a couple of years ago. It’s one of my favorite pieces of writing by myself, and I thought it would be nice to bring it from my Facebook note, to my blog to share. I hope you enjoy the read as much as I enjoyed writing it. It’s a piece of fiction, and it was written to try and capture a surreal feeling I thought would accompany the story as much as the fairy tale that inspired it.

Source: Elena Kalis

“I wonder if I’ve been changed in the night? Let me think. Was I the same when I got up this morning? I almost think I can remember feeling a little different. But if I’m not the same, the next question is, “Who in the world am I?” Ah, that’s the great puzzle!!” – Alice

The boy sat there wondering if what he had read could be somewhat probable. Maybe possible. A totally different type of happening and existence. could it be the words, could it be the sights, could it be the pulsing of his heart? When he sat back and listened, listening to the world speak, he took a deep breath and let out a slow, slow, slow, slow sigh. The possibilities probable, but not exactly plausible. Another sigh. Tilting his head sideways, the glow of the monitor blazed across his face. He blinked, and shook his head, nodding away the sleep.

He had read a story, a story very deep. A tale of a girl named Alice, stuck in wonderland. She ventured through a rabbit hole, to find herself in another place. Maybe… Another time. The possibilities endless… Endless, somewhat like time. She took the same route he had, and had experienced the same thing he had, and they had shared an experience through time… and space. And space is another thing all together, with depth and perception all grounding you to your own experience. Experiences… Every experience is a new experience because you can’t say the same thing twice.

So, if the same words weren’t being spoke again through time, how had the story been so alike. How had the tale of the girl named Alice seem so much like his own experiences. Because experiences, transcend time. You may realize today, you may realize tomorrow, but we’re all connected by an endless tie of experiences. Experiences in time… Because of course you know, every experience is a new experience because you can’t say the same thing twice.

So next time.. heh.. time.. Next time you experience something worth living for, worth dying for, worth.. writing for.. make sure you send your message through time. Put a pen to a pad… or a finger to a key.. or your lips to a mic.. or a brush to a canvas.. and make sure to leave your legacy behind. Your life, for others to experience in due time.

Heh… Time.

 

Join the discussion

