Preparing for that which you cannot possibly be prepared for

That would probably be a good way of describing what has been going on in my life lately. Despite knowing that there is no way that I will be able to be fully prepared for the moment my daughter arrives in this world, and the subsequent eternity to follow in which I will be responsible for her, I keep doing things I feel might just get me to this mythical point of preparation.

For starters, I’ve focused mainly on reading as much as I can about the whole process. I’ve consumed mass amounts of information starting with months before she’s born, to parenting tips for years far down the road in which I won’t even remember said tips. I keep wondering if I’m missing anything else, if there’s something I can possibly read that will provide a different viewpoint or insight that will be detrimental to this little ladies survival. I’ve even moaned and groaned to my wife about how unprepared I am, and how I need to find more information, more facts, more to-do and checklists. To which she politely responded: “That’s so funny. You’re the one worried about being prepared, yet I’m the one who’s going to have to actually give birth.” With that statement alone, I realized maybe, just maybe, I was going a little overboard with my obsession for being prepared. Maybe I should take a break from all my reading and just accept the fact that I will never be prepared for what is to come, and that’s okay.

In the meantime, I took to finish painting her room this weekend, which is finally complete. I’m pretty happy that with the results, and I’m looking forward to filling the room with all the wonderful stuff we have and will accumulate over the next couple of weeks and months. Just having the little things we already have makes it just a little more real. Her crib and changing table, her first outfit and other outfits we’ve been gifted, her little stuffed Kerropi, the art that my wife picked out for the room… it all brings the entire situation to reality whenever I step into her room. Exactly two months from today is our due date, and if this little lady shows up on time, that’s the day my entire life will change; Again. As it has been changing so often the past year or so. And I can’t wait.

Finally finished painting!

Finally finished painting!

9 responses to “Preparing for that which you cannot possibly be prepared for

  1. I felt the same way when we were about to have Jedi even though Dustin had 2 kids before…it was an overwhelming feeling to say the least..and so important! But you know what is neat?….once your little girl comes..it will come naturally believe it or not. You might still have questions here and there…but everything will make sense. You wait and see! In the meantime…breath…and enjoy your rest. πŸ˜‰

    • You’re so right! I think it’s just my nature to try to be prepared… I was a Boyscout when I was younger, so maybe that’s where it stems from, haha. I’m definitely trying to enjoy my rest… but I’m so ready for her to be here! I would almost be willing to give it up right now, if she would arrive already (and in good health) in exchange! But I guess I can wait a couple more months πŸ™‚

      • Let the baby herself prepare you! πŸ™‚ You will help each other grow…by experience and not by books..but do believe me I have read all of them myself! haha….you and Lauren are probably ‘nesting’ right now just as good parents do…preparing for her arrival and eager about it. This is going to be one of the best things EVER in your life, next to your marriage.

  2. As a new father who is 2.5 months into this game I can tell you that you will never be 100 percent prepared. You can read everything and most will not apply. Your little one is going to be a one of a kind . Will have her own personality, attitude, and habits right off the bat. The most important advice I can give you will be is to remember your wife is going to busy. You need to support her! That baby is going to be attached to her more then you at first. Their bond is all ready being developed and will be cemented in stone upon first look, touch, and smell. Fatherhood is awesome! It still scares me and seems surreal that I have a little one that I am 100 percent responsible for. I wouldn’t change anything about it! Remember if you need anything I am here for you. Congrats again.

    • Thanks so much for the comment. I appreciate knowing I’ve got another ‘new dad’ just a phone call away. I’m definitely just going to do what I can to support my wife and to do my best, and I think that will be exactly what needs to be done. Thanks again, and trust me, you will definitely get some phone calls once she arrives!

  3. Women like to say they have this mother’s instinct. But, believe me, men also have it. So try not to cloud your own too much with others’. Go with the flow (or in my case with my 2 boys, roll with the punches). Good luck!

  4. Welcome to the fretful and awesome world of parenting! You’re going to be an amazing dad – that’s already abundantly clear. So excited for you guys!

    • Thanks so much for the warm welcome, and I appreciate the kind comment! The closer we get to her arrival, the more I question my ability to be a good father, but I think that’s just natural.

Join the discussion

