What kind of world am I bringing my daughter into?

Image

This is a question I’ve asked myself a million times since I found out we were expecting. To be fair, it’s one that I asked myself long before I even had a child. Typically, it was in conversation, and just a ‘side note’. Now, it’s a very real question that I ask myself anytime I read the news.

This morning I woke up to the news that North Korea, yet again, has threatened to respond to the US & S. Korea’s military exercises with extreme force. They’ve put their missiles on standby, and claimed to target U.S. bases in Hawaii, Guam, and have been quoted as including the U.S. mainland in that threat. Now, anyone who’s been around for a while knows that this is a yearly situation we deal with often. Every year, the U.S. And S. Korea conduct their military maneuvers as a show of their alliance and combined military force. In response, the North responds with threats and statements of annihilation. Typical, I know, but these threats hold a lot more weight when I consider that in just a few months, my child will be a part of this world.

A couple of days ago, I read an article on Babycenter.com about 7 fears that fathers have going into parenthood. (A topic I will probably blog about soon) One of the fears they point out is mortality, and while I hadn’t really thought about it much, with today’s news, it is on my mind more than ever. The fear that before my child even arrives, the world could spiral into the next world war. Before she even takes her first breath, it’s totally plausible that I may take my last. Now, these are very fleeting thoughts that have come and gone as quickly as any other, but they just seem to be more ‘real’ when a baby is now in play.

I wish that my own feelings about war, love, peace, and happiness were universal. I wish that the leaders of these nations could simply sit down, talk about what’s really the issue at hand, and sort it out. In the end, we’re all human. We all breathe, bleed, and die just the same. We leave behind mothers, fathers, daughters, and friends. When we are taking our lasts breath’s, we will all ponder the moments of love and happiness, not war, famine and pain. At the end of the day, and our lives, we’re all the same. Why can’t we live that way? Why can’t we secure a future free of hate for those who will come after us? Why can’t we, even if not for ourselves but for our children, just work this shit out?

I’ll never know the answer to that question, but I can only hope that I have the chance to teach my daughter what life is really about. That love is the root of happiness. Not money, not cars or houses or material things, but love of and for, another human being. I’ll tell her about how it wasn’t until I met her mother, and then even moreso when I found out that she was conceived, that I realized that love is exactly what life is about. One day I’ll blog about ‘The Secret’ and how I hope to instill it into my child, but for now, I just hope we’re all around long enough to see our babies grow.

How do you feel about today’s news? Do you have the same fears for your children, whether you have them right now or not? I’d love some feedback on this topic as it’s been heavy on my mind today.

12 responses to “What kind of world am I bringing my daughter into?

  1. We live in a world where love persists but only on a personal basis. We love our families and friends but somehow we do not remember to love another fellow human. There are people out there- volunteers working towards spreading universal love but still, the negative notions of hatred and enmity blinds many of us..

    • I agree 100%, we tend to forget that loving other humans is also an integral part of life, and sometimes showing just a little bit of love to someone you’ve never met can make a big difference.

      Thank you so much for taking a moment to comment!

  2. I was just thinking the same thing. It’s crazy to think that your child’s future can be filled with wars and depressions. People are fighting over all these social issues while the government makes World changing decisions.

    We can only blame ourselves as a society for the future that our children will have (wether bad or good). When its all said and done, love for God and each other will be the foundation we find ourselves crawling back to once all the material things we care about some much become irrelevant.

    Our kids deserve the best and we should sacrifice ourselves to ensure they get just that!

    • Thanks so much for commenting Turner, I couldn’t have said it better myself! The world needs change now, so our children can live their lives without this constant fear of being on the brink of the next world war.

  3. Urf. Tell me about it! Law & Order:SVU all by itself turned me into a quivering ball of anxiety. These fears are natural, and like all kinds of bodily fluids, they’ll just become one other thing that doesn’t bother you a short while after she arrives. Don’t dwell on them too much – go look at some cat memes!

  4. The world begun in turmoil and has never let up since. It is awesome to want a better world for your children, and you sound like the type of guy who will make it just that. We can only control so much. Try to be present–in the moment–and don’t take it for granted. Blogging helps you do that:) Looking forward to more of your journey.

    • Thanks for the comment, and you’re right. We can only live for the moment, nothing more or less. Great advise! Thanks for stopping by and I look forward to seeing you around more! (And reading more from your blog, which is awesome, funny, and inspiring!)

  5. Teaching them to embrace life, to accept who they are, to cherish their uniqueness and believing that they can achieve anything, is the lessons I hope to instill in my children.

    Oh and having a great sense of humour and NEVER take themselves to seriously. And love their mom and spoil their dad. The list is getting long… Good luck, but don’t worry to much. Life’s good man.

    • So very true, and thank you for sharing your own values, as I feel like they are in line with what I hope to instill in my little one one day as well.

  6. I am TERRIFIED of the world my kids are growing up in. I’m not even that old, but I can’t believe how different things are from when we were their ages.

    • Isn’t it weird thinking about our childhoods versus what theirs are/will be?!? I remember running around after dark, taking walks by myself to wherever I wanted to go, being left alone at school events at off campus locations like the skating rink, etc. before I was ever a teen… thinking about it now, there’s no way in hell I’ll let my daughter do any of that at such a young age without me somewhere close by. She’s not even here yet and I’m already overly protective! It’s kind of sad.

Join the discussion

