Where do I start?

Starting a blog or a piece of writing is always the hardest part for me. I always struggle with what to say and where to begin. So I think I’ll start this one with a little about me before delving into my first topic, the reason I started this blog.

I’m twenty-nine years old, I live in Marietta, GA (right outside of Atlanta) and I’ve been married for just short of 6 months now. For the past year, life has been full of new and exciting experiences. I started a new job about 9 months ago in the shipping industry, I met the love of my life, I was engaged and subsequently we married on November 10th, 2012. (Yes, all within the year)

Me and the Wifey

About a week or two before our wedding, my wife and I found out that we were expecting. Ever since, it’s been what is on my mind most constantly. I think about the babies birth, her childhood, her name (and the struggle to find a middle name), where she’ll grow up, what college she will attend, and just yesterday, I thought about the last day I’ll call her down for breakfast before she moves out and on with her life.

Our Little Lady

Our Little Lady

This brings me to the reason I started this little project of mine. While thinking about all these things, I figured the internet of all places would be teeming with resources for a daddy to be. Boy, was I wrong. Not even babycenter.com (which has the amazing My Pregnancy app for mobile, if you don’t have it, I highly suggest it!) has much for dads to be. They advertise as if they do, but since I signed up for their weekly newsletter in November, I have only received 1 article that was geared towards men. The daddy blogs I came across were mostly inactive, or suffered from pretty badly formatted sites and presentation. And the few podcasts I found were not really up my ally. One was by a comedian, which I’m sure would be funny, but not really my thing. It’s crazy to think that I’m the only one out here looking for this information, and I would assume that this is not true, just that the ‘dad to be’ audience is probably just harder to please, has a shorter attention span, and will shy away from anything that is not aesthetically appealing… in short, they’re men.

So, what does all that mean? Well, hopefully it means that I will stick to it, continue to blog about my adventures in becoming a dad, and will possibly provide a place for dad’s to get a better realization that they aren’t alone in this whole thing, and that while yes, women are the main point of focus when it comes to pregnancy, men are not forgotten. I encourage any women/moms who come across the site to also partake, as I feel a women’s perspective is worth quite a lot when it comes to parenting and fatherhood.

Here’s to a fruitful place in internet space where a dad can grow into becoming a proud father with a little insight from his fellow men.

(P.S. Please feel free to interact, comment, email, share this link, etc. The more conversation the better!)

5 responses to “Where do I start?

  1. I can tell you are going to be an amazing father. The fact that you are here and talking about it, and already thinking of the future with your child, tells me you have much love in your heart. Trust me, friend. That love will grow tenfold.

    All the best to you and yours. Congratulations on your impending receiving of the best title known to man: Father (next to that of Mother).

    Matt Gannon

    PS: Look up Life of Dad. They are a very cool bunch and would welcome you with open arms.

    • Thanks for stopping by and for the wonderful comment! Also, Life of Dad is pretty awesome! I’m so surprised that the site didn’t come up when I was searching for daddy tips! I’m signing up as we speak!!

      Looking forward to more of your blog!

  2. Haha, when I was 29, I was newly married with a new position at work and expecting my first baby, a girl. 10 years later and I’m a borderline alcoholic, 50 pounds heavier and a new blogger. You’ve got the blog, now you’ve got to work on the weight gain and beer consumption! Good luck! I’m still married to the same woman and we have 3 kids now, so it’s a piece of cake!

    I came over from Mollytopia’s page, just FYI. I’m always willing to share my parenting genius, just ask. In fact, I just posted a new parent…wtf post the other day. lol.

    • Thanks for stopping by! I definitely think my alcohol intake will increase, but I think I’ll steer clear of gaining the weight. Like you said in your other comment, I worked damn hard to lose the 70lbs I lost. I don’t care to gain them back 🙂 I will definitely check out your blog, I love anything geared towards us new parents on the block.

      Thanks again!

  3. Pingback: Peter Pan’s got… KIDS?!? | Dad, It's ok!·

Join the discussion

